Redtube Requested Permission to Use my Camera – ios

Hoping that my phone is safe. I was on redtube and after clicking on a video, a new tab opened on my Duck Duck Go Browser with an “alert” At the same time, I received a message asking to give Duck Duck Go Permission to access my Camera AND the option to dial a 1800 number came up (in the same manner as when you click a phone number link on a website). I am 100% sure I clicked, “Don’t allow” in regards to the camera access. Then I shut down my phone. I turned it back on and everything seemed fine. Permissions were still turned off. No home pages were changed on my browsers and no phone calls were made or pictures/videos taken.

​

Did I dodge a bullet here or is there something else I should look for? I’m running ios 15 and it is not jailbroken.


The content was posted by switch7226 on 2021-11-10 19:32:04 via reddit

Similar Posts

2 Comments

  1. PleasantAmphibian101 says:

    You’re probably safe then. It was probably just popup spam. You can get and run an antivirus app to check just in case if you’re really concerned.

  2. Base on the context, it sounds that you are fine. I actually have tried some websites where they show popup adverts that my phone is compromised but it is obvious that you can close that off by pressing “x” button. You’ll likely have issues if you did what the advert says.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *